Good Sportsmanship
    Larry Downey
    Legion of Merit
    Lifetime Achievement &
    Hall of Fame
    Sires & Dams of Merit
    Unsung Hero

Board of Directors

Code of Ethics

Committee Chairs


"In the Know" ABC Digital

    Application Process

Members Websites

Position Statement

    BOW & HIT Plaque
    Performance Award
    Top Performance Dog


Good Sportsmanship Award

In 1991, the American Boxer Club Board of Directors established an award to be presented each year at the Annual Awards Dinner to a person who deserve special recognition for Good Sportsmanship.

What makes a Good Sportsman:
* Promotes goodwill amongst others
* Supports the activities/wins of others, extending good wishes
* Has the "good of the boxers" at heart
* Encourages others who may need encouragement
* Is courteous, friendly and kind, especially to newcomers
* Volunteers time to educate people about boxers, the club and club activities
* Displays integrity, fairness and honesty

In 2006, the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established to provide Parent Clubs with an Sportsmanship Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis. This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club.

The rules are few:
1. The nominee must be an ABC member in good standing.
2. To nominate, you must be an ABC member or officer of a member club.
3. Your nominee must not have been a winner in the last ten years

Please have nominations to the Good Sportsmanship Chairperson no later than February 1st of each year.
The medallion is presented each year at the Annual Awards Dinner.

Larry Hughes, Chairperson
Email:     Phone: 321-268-2535


2017 -- Jeff Phillips
2016 -- Bobbi Compton
2015 -- Sandy Orr
2014 -- Debbie Struff
2013 -- Ida Baum
2012 -- Kimberly Pastella-Calvacca
2011 -- Joyce Campbell, DVM
2010 -- John Connolly
2009 -- Earl Overstreet
2008 -- Eleanor Linderhom-Wood
2007 -- Tony Louwerse
2006 -- William East
2005 -- Brenda Stuckey
2004 -- Rufus Burleson, Pat Edward & Wendy Wallner
2003 -- Bridget Brown
2002 -- Tracy Hendrickson
2001 -- Norman Crook
2000 -- Vanessa Everett
1999 -- Cal Gruver & Bob Oliver
1998 -- John Connolly
1997 -- Bobbie Wagner
1996 -- Jerry Huffman
1995 -- Dr. Ted Fickes
1994 -- Eleanor Linderhom-Wood
1993 -- Earl Overstreet
1992 -- Bob Phillips
1991 -- Billie McFadden

2017 - Jeff Phillips & Salli Moore-Kottas

© Copyright American Boxer Club, Inc.          - All Rights Reserved -